Cannibalism in CAR: Cruelty or Sorcery?

A place where members can debate rumors and claims of conspiracies, cover-ups and secret government activities.
Gotham Witch

Cannibalism in CAR: Cruelty or Sorcery?

Post by Gotham Witch »

I'll be the first to admit I'm no expert on African folk magic, and I'd like to forewarn that this isn't an attempt to sensationalize, but this story illustrates a disturbing twist on a current event: magic in warfare.

This of course isn't the first time such a thing has happened. Similar happened in the late 1800s between Congo Free State and several Swahili-Arab states. In the 1980s, humanitarian groups documented ritual cannibalism in Liberia. The Lord's Resistance Army also engaged in ritual cannibalism, possibly of a magical nature.

Excerpt wrote:Perhaps, he agreed with me, this atrocity was simply the act of an unbalanced individual. Or it might be the result of sectarian hatreds.

Or - his final explanation - this had something to do with sorcery.

Many of the Christian fighters we met - the anti-balaka - believe in magic. They go into battle wearing a variety of amulets. A group of fighters at a checkpoint told me some of the amulets contained the flesh of men they had killed.

"We are bullet-proof," their commander told me, chuckling.

There has been, as far we know, no other act of cannibalism is this conflict. There is, however, precedent in the Central African Republic.

Congolese soldiers from the African-led International Support Mission to the Central African Republic (MISCA) stand guard in a street where people burnt tyres following the killing of a man by an ex-Seleka member, on 12 January 2014, in Bangui.